Turning 2D Painting Into 3D Art

Did you know that you can turn your 2D painting into 3D art?

Others have commented that some of my sumi-e is quite stylized, so I decided to turn my ink painting into 3D art and try it in jewellery design. I have discovered an app that turns 2D into 3D, and that transforms my painting into 3D models which can then turned into pendants, rings etc.

I drew the design with Chinese ink and brush, and voilà…here is my zen pendent . It is available in different materials like 14 kt plated gold, stainless steel, acrylic etc., but I like it in raw silver best.

Zen Pendant – Fish and Lily Pad in Raw Silver by Oi Yee Tai   

 

I also used my grass calligraphy for the Chinese word “love”, and turned it into this polished silver pendant:

Love Calligraphy Pendant – in Polished Silver by Oi Yee Tai   

 

If you are interested in turning your 2d art into 3d objects like what I have done at this shop, then try this free app and have fun.

With the advance of 3D printing, the opportunities are limitless.

blogTaiOiYee

Tags: , , , ,

About inkwashpainting

Follow the heart…go with the flow That’s how I paint, that’s how I live. My sumi paintings are essentially monochromatic. I find boundless freedom in expressing myself through different shades of black, white and grey. I love to use minimal strokes capturing the essence while leaving enough white space for the viewer’s imagination. That stems from the Taoist thinking – sometimes not doing anything is action in itself. You can read more about me at my website: http://www.oystudio.com 戴愛兒 - 簡約寫意水墨畫

Leave a Reply

